New Scientist: Kindergarten coders can program before they can read

ImageGoing back to school to meet the 4-year-olds who are learning to program computers thanks to a new graphics-based coding language

LORNA is 4, going on 5. I’ve never met her before, but her eyes light up when she sees me. She rushes over, blonde curls bouncing. “I’m going to sit on you!” she declares. I demur, so she climbs into the chair next to me. “I weigh forty pounds!” she exclaims.

I hand her the iPad I’m carrying and the silliness melts away in an instant. A teacher helps her load up an app, gives her a quick tutorial and she’s off, pulling at icons, stringing instructions together, building animations. Lorna is on her third day of learning to program a computer. Read more…

Leave a Reply

